The Microscopy Society of Southern Africa (MSSA) is a non-profit organisation dedicated to furthering microscopy in the broadest sense in all branches of science within the southern African region. The term southern Africa broadly includes Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Emerging collaborations have allowed us to extend our outreach further to also include Uganda, Kenia and Tanzania.

As an immediate drive, the MSSA has already embarked on establishing new partnerships with research institutions and universities within the African continent in order to engage in collaborative research as well as develop microscopy skills. Our Society can be a catalyst to boost microscopy research and in that way promote greater involvement of African scientists at IFSM.

The Bid Committee for IMC20 on behalf of MSSA: Prof Chantélle Baker (President: MSSA); Prof Jan Neethling (Immediate Past-President: MSSA); Dr James Wesley-Smith (Past-President: MSSA); Prof Michael Lee (Trade Exhibition) and Dr Rodney Genga (Outreach Africa e.g. Courses and Workshops).

Visit Website